MNF Baked Olives in Cheese

Olives baked in cheese - 1

My plan for this blog was to talk about olives – a fruit about which I am NOT fond; in fact, I don’t eat them unless they are chopped up so finely that I don’t notice them.

You know I’m not a picky eater – and that I am quite adventurous when it comes to trying new and unusual foods, but there is something about the texture of olives that is a total turn-off for me. Interestingly, I LOVE olive oil and use it often (along with peanut oil, especially for frying). But to sit and grab and olive or 2, not this gal!

As I was digging through some old AFD (“ ,,, And For Dessert?” to the uninitiated) files, I ran across this recipe for Baked Olives in Cheese that I had made for a client’s party. She and her guests liked it so well, she had me make it for her next 2 events!

So here it is, in all its glory. I do hope you enjoy it as much as she did.

Baked Olives in Cheese

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 40 large green olives stuffed with pimento or almonds (I used Lindsay Nutty Almond Queen Olives)

In a medium-sized bowl, or the bowl of your electric stand mixer, cream butter. Mix in flour, cheese, paprika, cumin and hot sauce. Cover bowl and refrigerate at least one hour.

Drain olives and pat dry with paper towels. With a ball of cheese mixture in your hand, roll it to the size of an olive, then using your fingers, press into a round disk. Put an olive in the center and press the dough up and around it to seal it completely.  (I thought I had done a good job of sealing mine, but some olive popped out here and there).

Place on a baking sheet sprayed with non-stick spray and put into the freezer for 15 minutes.

Remove the olives from the freezer and let stand while you preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the cheese dough is puffy and brown. Remove from oven and let cool to slightly warm.  Serve at room temperature.  Makes 35 to 40 appetizers.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, Posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

