Chocolate Irish Potato Cake

Chocolate Irish Potato Cake

What do you do with left-over mashed potatoes? Since I rarely make them, I always have left-overs and I usually just make a patty, lightly flour it, and fry it up for breakfast along with my usual cheese omelet instead of toast. I have leftovers either because I made English Bangers & Mash with Onion Gravy or Shepherd’s Pie and I seem to miscalculate how much I really need. Ergo – leftovers.

So I went digging into a box of old recipes and found one that solved my problem. It was written in my handwriting on an old piece of note paper stuck in a pamphlet put out by the Gas Co. umpteen years ago. I have no idea why it was in that pamphlet or who gave me the recipe but I had noted on it – tastes good. That’s good enough for me to give to you.

I thought about holding this for St. Patrick’s Day, but I’ll be needing to use up extra mashed potatoes before long, so I might as well have this handy! Let’s try it together!

Chocolate Irish Potato Cake

  • 4 oz. semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate, grated or finely chopped
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup walnuts, finely chopped
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground nutmeg
  • 4 eggs separated
  • 1 cup butter-flavored vegetable shortening (don’t use butter or margarine)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup cold mashed potatoes
  • 1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350 and position rack in the middle. Lightly grease and flour (or spray) a 13 x 9 (or Bundt) pan. Set aside.

Melt the chocolate over a double boiler (or in the microwave). Be sure not to let any water or steam into it or it will ‘seize’ and you’ll have to start over (which is why I do it in the microwave). Watch that it doesn’t burn. Set aside.

Combine the flour, nuts, baking powder and spices. Set aside. In a medium bowl using an electric mixer on high speed, beat the egg whites until stiff but not dry. Set aside.

In a small bowl, beat the egg yolks on medium speed, until thick and lemon colored.

In a large bowl at medium speed, beat the butter-flavored shortening and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in the beaten egg yolks. Beat in the mashed potatoes and melted chocolate.

In 3 additions, beat in the flour mixture, alternating with the milk, starting and ending with the flour mixture. Scrape down the sides as necessary. When fully mixed, pour into prepared baking dish.

Bake 40-45 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool in the pan (if a 13×9) or for about 10 minutes if a Bundt pan. Invert the Bundt pan onto a wire rack to cool. When cool (either way), remove to serving dish.

Dust with powdered sugar or frost or glaze as desired.

Serves 12-16

This entry was posted in Baking, Cake, Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

