Nutmeg Muffins

Nutmeg Muffins

Some of you long-time readers may recall that during my tenure in LA, among other occupations and professions, I owned and operated a boutique catering company called; “… And For Dessert?” Why that name? Well, my wonderfully creative sister and I were talking about names and she suggested something starting with the letter ‘A’ which puts you near the top of an alphabetical list. Great idea, I said.

Immediately, the thought popped into my head! When you are about finished eating in a restaurant, the server often asks … “And for dessert?” … often enticing you to have some whether you planned dessert or not. Since my plans were to specialize in desserts (and later, added appetizers and hors d’oeuvres), the light bulb wemt on in a flash and now you know the back story!

Anyway, one of my steady customers (alongside the restaurants who ordered my cheesecakes on a regular basis) was a bank! They held weekly managers’ meetings and asked me to provide freshly baked breakfast pastries for their 8:00 a.m. meetings.

Easy, I thought: coffee cake, muffins, and some ‘healthy’ cookies. Of course the menu couldn’t be the same every week. So Sunday night, I’d measure out flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, chocolate chips, cocoa, raisins, other dried fruit, oatmeal, walnuts, and almonds. Finally, I found myself getting ready to repeat a menu. In the LA Times the previous week was a recipe for Nutmeg Muffins! Interesting, I thought so I figured I’d make a batch and see how they were. If they were good, I’d include 6 as a test (there were 12 of 3 different flavors each week).

I got a call at 10 a.m. that morning! The Nutmeg Muffins were a hit. Those who tasted them shared a bite – no more than that – to others and they demanded Nutmeg Muffins every week!

So – here is the recipe for the Banker Breakfast Nutmeg Muffins! I hope you like them as much as they did! And so do I!

Nutmeg Muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (Whole what is OK  but it will make them heavier; try 1/2 and 1/2 if you want to go with whole wheat)
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 whole nutmeg, grated (equals about generous 1-1/2 Tbsps.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 5 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 400 F. Grease the muffin tins or use butter-flavored spray (which I prefer to the papers for muffins.)

Stir together with a fork (I use a whisk) the flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt in a medium-size bowl, thoroughly combining the ingredients. Beat the egg well in a small bowl, then stir in the cream, milk, and butter and blend well. Add the cream mixture to the flour mixture and stir only until there are no streaks of flour. Don’t over mix. Overmixing makes tunnels in your muffins which rise into mountains!

Spoon batter two-thirds full into each muffin cup. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the rounded tops are lightly golden. Remove muffins from the pan, and serve warm. Or cool on a rack and store or freeze for later use; warm before serving.

Servings  12

This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Breakfast, Posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

