Marinated Salmon

Marinated Salmon

I recently returned from a holiday vacation to visit my family in Cleveland, OH and Bella Vista, AR and celebrate the holidays with them. What a joyous time for me – and for them – for us to be able to spend time together! Naturally, in Cleveland, I had to steal – or at least, obtain – some recipes from my Aunt who still cooks the old fashioned way. Since it was Passover, I was able to abscond with some new (to me) Passover recipes which I will share next year, and one that can be – and should be – made all year long. It will work particularly well during the summer, because it requires virtually no cooking at all!

And wow – is it delicious, and healthy too! It seemed as if I was nibbling on it every time I opened the fridge until I got the old fashioned slap on the hand to remind me to keep my hands off it until lunch!

Best made (for health reasons) with wild caught salmon, she made it will farm raised as I will, also. The onions are still crunchy and the salmon is fully “cooked” just as the fish in ceviche is fully “cooked” by the action of the acid on the fish. Just remember to make this at least 3 days in advance of when you plan to serve it – and make plenty as it just seems to disappear like magic once everyone gets a taste!

Pauline’s Marinated Salmon

  • 1 salmon filet, deboned (about 2 2-1/2 # more or less)
  • 2 large Spanish onions

Marinade

  • 2 c white vinegar
  • 1 c sugar
  • 10 oz. chili sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. pickling spice
  • 1 Tbsp. salad oil

Boil enough water to cover fish.  (She uses a large frying pan.)

Cut fish into squares.  Gently put fish pieces in water and boil for about 5 minutes.

Slice onions into rings and place in bottom of a glass or any non-reactive pan. Remove fish from water and add to onions. Pour marinade over and store in refrigerator for at least 3 days before serving.

The process is the same even if you use less than a whole salmon.  Use the same amount of marinade.

Serve ??? cold or room temp??? It’s yummy both ways!

 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Entreé, Fish, Posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marinated Salmon

  1. Pauline LEBER says:

    Wow. I feel like a celebrity. Hope you get some good feedback. Nice job

    Love. FA

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • I bought salmon today & a jar of chili sauce. Can’t find Spanish onions so will quickly blanch brown onions and use that. Will make this over the weekend! Can’t wait! Love you, FN2

Leave a Reply

