Mexican Turkey Frittata

Turkey Fritatta Muffins

Well there’s an oxymoron for you … Mexican Frittata! First of all, a Frittata is an Italian omelet, started on the stove and finished in the oven and served flat (not rolled as the French omelet). To my knowledge (and I’ve looked in a number of my Mexican cookbooks and elsewhere), I can find no reference to a “Mexican Frittata” other than this one I found on the web as one used in The Biggest Loser show.

Now let me be perfectly clear on one thing: I do NOT watch reality shows – ever, none, not any, you name it – I’ve NEVER watched it. I may have seen a minute or 2 surfing channels or looking for something decent to watch … but to me, reality shows are as far away from reality as the North Pole is to the South Pole … and for the most part, their raison d’étre is greed. So if you enjoy them, go right ahead – to each his or her own. But when I saw this recipe on the web, it looked good so I figured, why not!

I will even give you the Nutritional Info they posted (since I’m not a nutritionist, I don’t do this – but these are their numbers, not mine):

Calories 100
Fat  3.5 g
Protein 15 g
Cholesterol  30 mg
Fiber  0 mg
Saturated Fat   1.5 g
Sugars   1 g
Sodium   140 mg
Carbs   2 g

The picture is from their website as is the recipe. Let me know what you think of it. Each serving is made in a muffin cup and while the instructions don’t tell us how many servings it makes, I would guess 2 “Frattatas” plus a bowl of fresh fruit would be one serving.

Let me know what you think – of the recipe, not my aversion to “reality’ shows!

Mexican Turkey Frittata

  • 1 (20 oz.) pkg.  extra lean ground turkey breast
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 c sliced small mushrooms
  • 1 Tbsp. chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, finely chopped
  • 2 c egg substitute or 8 eggs
  • 1/4 c milk
  • 1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 c shredded low-cal Mexican Blend cheese
  • 1/3 c green sliced onions

Preheat oven to 350. Mist 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.

Cook ground turkey as specified on the package. Always cook to well done – 165 F as measured by a meat thermometer. Sprinkle with cumin. Stir to mix.

In large skillet over medium high heat, add oil, green pepper, mushrooms and chipotle peppers and sauce. Cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally until mushrooms are cooked.

In a large bowl, whisk eggs, milk and cilantro until well mixed. Stir in turkey, cheese, mushroom mixture and green onions.

Spoon mixture into prepared muffin cups until they are about 3/4 full and bake 20 minutes or until set.

This entry was posted in Baking, Entreé, Recipes, Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

