Jeopardy on Cooking With Char

Broiled grapefruit

The Category is: Opposites and the Answer is: Sweet!

If this were Jeopardy! what would YOUR question be? What is the opposite of “sweet”? How many said “sour”? Sorry! That’s wrong. You lost your money but if you said BITTER, you are today’s Jeopardy! Champion on Cooking With Char!

That’s true – opposite of sweet is bitter (think ‘bittersweet’ chocolate!). Now, the reason for this little poaching (sorry for the pun) of a terrific game show, is to talk about grapefruit! Grapefruit – whose name does it no favor – is either loved or hated by most people. I fall in the LOVE it category and prefer the white to the red or pink but I’ll eat any kind you put in front of me! I use it in cooking (I make a killer Grapefruit Meringue Pie), chicken with grapefruit sauce, drink the juice, but mostly, I just eat it. My grandmother used to just peel them and eat them the way you do an orange!

And not just at breakfast, either! I’ll eat one for a snack (low in calories, fat-free, gluten-free, good carbs, fiber, etc.). Now I know it has a negative reaction with certain medications and there is a debate about it with a specific cancer….but it is delicious and I love it so I eat it.

It works nicely as a dessert – there, I gotcha! I do this both for breakfast and dessert; I just sprinkle something like brown sugar on top – that sweetness helps cut the bitterness (remember bitter is the opposite of sweet). Some people drizzle some maraschino cherry juice on top, then broil and serve it with a cherry! Makes a nice dinner presentation, too.

So try it and if you come up with a new way to serve it, let me know and I’ll share it with everyone else.

Broiled Grapefruit

  • 1/2 to 1 grapefruit per person
  • 1/2 – 3/4 tsp. sugar, brown sugar, maple syrup, honey or agave syrup

Preheat the broiler. Get a rimmed pan lined with foil or parchment paper ready.

If necessary, cut a thin slice off the bottom of each grapefruit half so it stands strait. Set each half in the prepared pan.

Using a grapefruit knife or any serrated knife, cut around each section of the grapefruit.

Remove all visible seeds from the grapefruit. Sprinkle with the sugar or drizzle with the syrup of your choice on top of each half grapefruit.

Place under the broiler – at least 1-1/2” from the flame or broiler rod and broil for approximately 5 to 7 minutes or until sugar or syrup melts and begins to caramelize and the grapefruit is warmed through. Watch that the topping doesn’t burn!

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Fruit, Posts, Recipes, Side Dish, Snack and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

