Lilly’s Luscious Limas

Lillys Luscious Limas

I have a dear friend who, when she reads the title of this, won’t read any further! She absolutely hates limas and won’t eat them. I’ll bet you that when I ask her about this, she’ll deny having even seen it. Remind me to let you know!

Anyway … in my house growing up, it was called: Succotash. My Dad liked it so we had it pretty often and that was fine. It was limas, corn, butter, a splash of milk, and some salt and pepper and that was succotash! It appeared with chicken or beef: didn’t much matter and I doubt my Mother ever planned on it. Maybe Dad just asked for it and so she made it.

I made it the same way she did, for years. But then I ran across a recipe in a book I was reading about 2 young girls who exchanged recipes and this was one of them. I tried it and found it worked pretty well. I’ve adapted it over the years, so this is the adaptation of Lilly’s Luscious Limas!

Lilly’s Luscious Limas

  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 2 green onions, white & some of the green, thinly sliced
  • 1 large shallot, peeled and sliced vertically
  • 1-1/2 c frozen lima beans
  • 1 c fresh or frozen corn kernels (canned OK but drain well)
  • 1/2 c heavy cream
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onions and shallot, stirring occasionally, until soft and but not starting to brown, about 3 – 4 minutes. Add the lima beans and corn. Cook for an additional 3 minutes.

Add the cream and cook until just heated through. Don’t let it boil. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serves 4-6

This entry was posted in Posts, Recipes, Side Dish, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

