Chicken Apple Sausage

chicken apple sausage boats with eggchicken apple sausage slices

I like sausage with eggs for breakfast and when I have breakfast for dinner, which my long term followers know I do, and more and more often, these days! Lately, however, I’ve noticed that the taste of the sausages has not been as good as in the past, but the prices have been rising … so I’d been thinking about making my own.

I prefer patty sausage to link and the links I prefer have no casing, just the meat in finger shape. Don’t ask me why – I have no good reason – it’s just what I like. You like what you like and I like what I like.

I have tried some commercial chicken sausages and found them 1-1/2 steps above sawdust – but this one I found in an old Williams-Sonoma magazine and modified by adding some more spices to “kick it up a notch” as old Emeril would say.

Also, since it’s made with both white and dark meat of chicken, it’s not nearly as fatty as pork and needs the extra seasoning to enhance the flavor. For you non-pork eaters, this should give you a chance to add sausage to your breakfast (for dinner) menu! It’s best when freshly made but no reason why it couldn’t be frozen (though I’ve never frozen it so can’t say what the texture or taste will be like – let me know if you try it and how it comes out).

Chicken Apple Sausage

  • 3 chicken breast halves, skinned & boned (
  • 6 chicken thighs, skinned & boned
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 large Granny Smith apples, peeled and finely diced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh parley
  • 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp. dried sage
  • 1/4 tsp. fennel seed
  • 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Cut the chicken into chunks about 1” square and put them into a meat grinder using the coarse blade. (If you don’t have a meat grinder, use a food processed, and pulse until the meat is finely chopped. Be careful not to let it turn into a paste. Better to have the pieces a bit too large and chop then finer by hand.)

Place ground meat into a large mixing bowl and set aside. Peel and finely dice apples and sauté in butter until soft. Add to ground chicken along with all seasonings. Mix well (I do it by hand – that way I can feel if everything is getting mixed well). Form into patties (or links if you prefer).

Heat olive oil on a griddle and cook patties (or links) until browned and well done in the center. You don’t want any of the chicken to be raw!

Serve with eggs, waffles, pancakes … If you are going to freeze them, cook first, then freeze!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chicken, Posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

