Honey Cranberry Sauce

Cranberry-Sauce-

My sister started making this cranberry sauce recipe years ago and once I tasted it, I started to make it, too. I’m one of those people who eats cranberry sauce all year long…it goes with just about anything (except maybe fish – although I’ve mixed it with some of F&E’s fresh Mango Salsa that I love over tilapia and the combination is really quite good.

The recipe I’m giving you is the original – but I usually add some extra cloves, the tiny bits of whole nutmegs that are too small to grate any more but can’t bear to throw away, and roughly chopped candied ginger for that sweet/hot bite that I love. The ginger I just toss in with the salt & pepper – while sometimes I’ll put the whole cloves & nutmeg bits along with the bay leaf and cinnamon sticks in a little cheesecloth bag so they can be easily removed – and sometimes I just leave them in – depends on my mood!

Also, I always double the recipe so I’ll have it around for a while. Besides being a great side with your Thanksgiving turkey, it makes a fantastic spread for those turkey sandwiches and wraps …. And for a quick appetizer, pour about 1/2 to 3/4 cup over an 8 ounce brick of cream cheese surrounded by crackers, and you’re good to go. Believe me, it’s better than the canned stuff and makes a good breakfast jam, too! I fill jam jars and other small glass jars that seal tightly and store at the back of my fridge, so I always have some on hand. They make a great hostess gift, too! Everyone loves a gift from the kitchen.

Since cranberries are usually on sale this time of year (and are not even available much after January), this is the time to stock up and throw them in the freezer. Use them right out of the freezer – no defrosting necessary for this recipe and for most others and if it is necessary, pour them  into a strainer and run cold water through for a minute or so, shake well and that’s it!

As I return to my kitchen, remember to feel free to email me with any last minutes questions.

I wish each and every one of you a perfect turkey (or ham), everything done on time, everyone to the table with a hearty appetite, and a VERY HAPPY & TASTY THANKSGIVING TO ALL.

Spiced Cranberry Sauce with Honey

  • 1 3/4 c cranberry juice, divided
  • 3/4 c honey
  • 1  Tbsp. grated orange peel
  • 1-2  cinnamon stick(s)
  • 1-2  bay leaves
  • 1 tsp minced peeled fresh ginger (or minced candied ginger)
  • 3/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2-3 whole cloves
  • 1  12 ounce bag fresh or frozen cranberries

Combine 1 1/2 cups cranberry juice cocktail, honey and orange peel in heavy medium saucepan. Bring mixture to simmer over medium heat, stirring until honey dissolves. Simmer 4 minutes to blend flavors. Add cinnamon stick, bay leaves, ginger, coriander, salt, pepper and cloves and simmer for 2 minutes more. Add cranberries and simmer until berries burst and sauce is thick, pressing berries against side of pot and stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat. Discard bay leaf and cinnamon sticks. Add remaining 1/4 cup cranberry juice. Refrigerate until well chilled.

This recipe can be prepared 3 days ahead. It doubles easily. Cover and keep refrigerated. It will last for months.

Makes 3 cups

This entry was posted in Condiments, Fruit, Posts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

