Potato Chip Cookies

Potato chip Cookies

Who doesn’t like potato chips, raise your hand?  Funny, I didn’t see a single hand go up, not even my own! I will admit, however, I am a fan of plain potato chips. I’m OK with wavy or rippled ones but not with added chemical flavors. I want to taste the potato and the skin and yes, the oil in which they were fried. So as much as I know the baked ones are healthier, who eats potato chips to get healthy? For me, they are a rare treat because my answer to the old question: Can you east just 1 is a resounding NO!!!

My mother made these potato chip cookies and I will admit the juxtaposition of potato chips – a fave snack as a teenager (popping the bubbles & dipping them into cola which now makes me cringe!!) – and the butter cookie – was a surprise, as was how good they were.

She said she got the recipe off the back of a bag of chips – I don’t remember what kind – and I’ve modified it a bit over the years….but it is still a great cookie with a glass of milk, or ice tea or just by itself.

They  make a good snack to add to a lunch box, too!

Potato Chip Cookies 

  • 1 lb. butter
  • 3 1/2 cups sifted flour
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups crushed potato chips plus more for topping cookies

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter and sugar. Add flour a cup at a time. Mix well. Add vanilla and lastly potato chips. Use an ice cream scoop or your hands to make balls. Stick a few big pieces of potato chips into the top of each cookie

Bake on ungreased cookie sheets until lightly brown, 15-20 min. Cool 2-3 minutes, then move to cooling racks.

Makes 5-6 dozen depending on how big a scoop you use.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, Posts, Recipes, Snack and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

