I’m Dreaming of Some Creamed Spinach

Creamed-Spinach

I can remember the very first time I had creamed spinach! It was a the old Lawry’s Prime Rib on “Restaurant Row” in Los Angeles. I thought I had died and went to heaven!

The other day I told you about some foods I really dislike – this is one of my all time favorites! I will admit, though, that many of the frozen varieties and even some restaurants, make it so salty that I wonder how fresh was the spinach and cream!

This recipe is not from Lawry’s – if anyone has theirs, please, please share it with me! But it is adapted from one from the Saddle Peak Lodge in Calabasas that I have used from a book published by the LA Time many years ago. While not quite as good as Lawry’s, it is good and I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do!

Creamed Spinach

  • 3 pounds fresh spinach, stemmed
  • 1 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped shallot
  • 3 c heavy whipping cream, divided
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • Truffle oil, optional

Blanch spinach in large pot of boiling salted water just until wilted. Drain and immediately plunge into sink full  of icy water to stop cooking and set the bright green color.

Put the spinach in a bag made of cheesecloth and twist, wringing out as much spinach water as possible.  You want the spinach to be as dry as you can get it.

Chop the spinach (coarse or fine, your preference)

Melt butter over medium heat in large skillet; add shallot and sauté about 1 minute. Add 1-1/2 cups of the cream and heat just until cream begins to simmer. Add about half the spinach and whisk it slowly into the cream so it doesn’t splatter. Add remaining cream and spinach and whisk together gently so entire mixture is combined. Still at the simmer, let cook, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes until cream reduces and mixture has thickened. Add nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle with truffle oil if desired.

Serves 8

Toque

Tip of the Toque:  You may use 3  10 oz. packages of frozen, chopped spinach for this (it won’t be as good but it will work). Defrost the frozen spinach (do NOT cook it). place defrosted spinach in the cheesecloth and proceed as above.

This entry was posted in Posts, Recipes, Side Dish, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

