Salmon on the Fly

I’m a carnivore. But that doesn’t mean I don’t like fish…and poultry…and cookies….and, well, you get the picture. Fish should NEVER smell ‘fishy’. It should have a clean, briny, ocean smell. It cooks quickly so it’s perfect when you need to get dinner on the table in a hurry. Some people separate fish from seafood, but if it lives in the water, it’s fish to me!

One of my favorites is salmon, a ‘fatty’ fish chock full of Omega 3. It’s farmed as well as wild caught. The wild has a much stronger, wilder taste than the farmed but is more expensive. If you want to give your family a treat, or want to impress guests, try my simple but elegant Mushroom-Almond Topped Salmon Steaks. You’ll find the recipe on my blog. I think I’ll make some tonight!

TIP:  When baking, grilling or broiling any fish (other than thin filets which you would sauté or steam), timing is important. 10 minutes per 1 inch at the thickest part of the fish to ensure it is cooked all the way through.

This entry was posted in Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

